Living

5 New Books to Add to Your Reading List

by Allysha Nila
29.08.2017
For your reading pleasure
Margiela The Hermès Years

While the exhibition at MoMu Fashion Museum, Antwerp has recently ended, you can still pore over the discreet era of Hermès under the direction of avant-garde designer Martin Margiela. Fans of both Margiela and Hermès will be delighted to find previously unseen images and press clippings in this book, many presented in a comparative format, demonstrating the aesthetic and conceptual similarities between his designs for eponymous label, Maison Martin Margiela, and Hermès. Additionally, various stories are told through accounts of close collaborators, journalists and company members, creating an intimate tone for the book.

Cool – Style, Sound and Subversion

by Greg Foley and Andrew Kueke

In this day and age, what does it mean to be cool? We think the pursuit is pointless unless you’re informed of the many factors that make something relevant today. This book uncovers the roots of the various subcultures that have influenced fashion throughout history. Learn about the Swingjugends from Nazi-era Germany, who protested against authority through Swing music; and the Miyuki-Zoku movement, fronted by intellectual rebels who signalled the Ivy League style obsession in 1960s Japan. Complete with illustrations by Foley and even musical playlists (also available on iTunes), this is a mandatory guidebook for fashion enthusiasts and cultural aficionados alike.

Gaston Louis Vuitton: Cabinet of Wonders

Edited by Patrick Mauriès

Louis Vuitton’s grandson was the personification of curiosity with his many hobbies, travels and creative endeavours. This is reflected by is the extensive collection of peculiar objects that he collected from around the world. In this tome, discover apothecary chests from all over Europe, tsubas (sword holders) from Japan, rare malletier hand-saws from France, as well as trunks from Oceania, Asia and Africa. Such items have influenced some of the less known items the French brand has produced, including toys and toilet sets in the late 1920s, as well as iconic features such as bag and trunk locks. 

Hortus Sanitatis

By Derek Ridgers

Gucci publishes another limited-edition visual tome. The gilded edge, cyan coloured book features images exclusively captured by British subculture photographer Derek Ridgers. The title is Latin for “The Garden of Health”, which was also the title of the first-ever natural history encyclopedia, published in Germany in 1485. May we remind you that Gucci is currently restoring the Boboli Gardens in Florence, Italy; its Fall/Winter collection was titled The Alchemist’s Garden and it released a capsule collection, Gucci Garden, just last year. Gucci sure loves its gardens.

Timeless Icons

Tod’s releases an Electa-published, double cover photo book featuring well, timeless icons, both men and women.

All photographs are in black and white, and all the subjects are the most recognisable stars of our time. The list includes, but is not limited to: Jane Birkin, Audrey Hepburn, Bella Hadid, Liu Wen, Naomi Campbell, Marisa Berenson and Jourdan Dunn. The deep red cover of the women’s section is French ‘60s star Brigitte Bardot; flip the book over for the men’s section fronted by The Rolling Stones’ Mick Jagger. 

This article first appeared in the August 2017 issue of L'Officiel Singapore (out now on newsstands and Magzter).

Share article

Tags

related posts

Recommended posts for you