Raf Simons is CFDA's Womenswear Designer of the Year (Again)

Calvin Klein's Creative Chief Officer bags his fourth win at the prestigious fashion awards
Reading time 3 minutes


Raf Simons has done it again. Since being appointed as the Chief Creative Officer at Calvin Klein two years ago, the visionary Belgian designer has breathed new life into the American label with designs that finely balance modernity and the brand's heritage.


Thanks to the 2018 CFDA Fashion Awards that took place at the Brooklyn Museum on June 4, Simons now has an award to show for his efforts. That is, the biggest one of all: the Womenswear Designer of the Year.


This is hardly his first accolade, though. At last year's CFDA, Simons made the headlines by winning both the titles of Womenswear and Menswear Designer of the Year, and back in 2014, he received the CFDA International Award for his contributions at Dior. 

Photo credit: Calvin Klein's Instagram (@calvinklein)

Simons shares the spotlight with Supreme founder James Jebbia, who took home this year's Menswear Designer of the Year Award. (However, that news has been met with quite a bit of criticism, since Jebbia stated in his acceptance speech that he has "never considered Supreme to be a fashion company or [himself] a designer.”)


Other highlights include Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen of The Row winning Accessory Designer of the Year — which they'd previously won back in 2014 — as well as Kim Kardashian West taking home the brand-new Influencer Award after joking, "I'm kind of shocked that I'm winning a fashion award when I'm naked most of the time."

See the full list of winners of the 2018 CFDA Fashion Awards below:

Swarovski Award for Positive Change
Diane von Furstenberg

Members Salute
Ralph Lauren

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
Narciso Rodriguez

Founder’s Award
Carolina Herrera

International Award
Donatella Versace

Media Award
Edward Enninful

Fashion Icon Award
Naomi Campbell

Influencer Award
Kim Kardashian West

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent
Sander Lak, Sjes Marjan

Accessory Designer of the Year
Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year

Womenswear Designer of the Year
Raf Simons, Calvin Klein



related posts

Recommended posts for you