Meet This Year's Winner of the LVMH Prize

by L'Officiel Singapore
Eight finalists; six countries; one prize: who clinched this year's LVMH Prize?

The fashion gods have spoken: Marine Serre is the winner of this year's LVMH Grand Prize. Held at the Fondation Louis Vuitton in Paris earlier this month, the awards ceremony saw the French-Belgian designer beat seven other finalists to clinch a €300,000 grant and year-long mentorship from an LVMH team. Another winner that night was Japanese designer Kozaburo Akasaka, who was awarded the Special Prize for his subtly deconstructed creations in menswear.

The winners were selected by a jury panel comprising seven creative directors of LVMH Maisons: Karl Lagerfeld of Fendi, Nicholas Ghesquière of Louis Vuitton, Maria Grazia Chiuri of Christian Dior, Jonathan Anderson of Loewe, Pheobe Philo of Céline, and Humberto Leon and Carol Lim of Kenzo, alongside Executive Vice President of Louis Vuitton, Delphine Arnault. The awards ceremony was also attended by special guest Rihanna, who presented the award to Serre.

Back for its fourth year running, the LVMH Prize was created to support young fashion designers around the world. Past years' winners include Simon Porte Jacquemus and Marta Marques and Paulo Almeida in 2015.

LOfficiel Singapore LVMH Prize 2017 Marine Serre Rihanna Delphine Arnault.png
LOfficiel Singapore LVMH Prize 2017 Marine Serre Karl Lagerfeld.png
LOfficiel Singapore LVMH Prize 2017 jury.png

Share article


related posts

Recommended posts for you